If you are sick of having a phone full of pictures and videos that you will not ever see again, it may be time to delete your Snapchat account. However, if you are concerned about privacy, you may want to take some extra precautions before permanently deleting your account. It is still possible to recover your account, but it may require some digging.
First, you will need to log into your account. To do this, you will need to open the Snapchat app on your mobile device. From there, you can scroll to the settings section of the app. Here you will find an option that says “Delete my account.” You can then follow this link to a page that explains how to deactivate your account. You will need to provide a verified email address and a password. The company will then send you a confirmation message.
Before you do anything, you should make sure to download all the data you may have saved on your account. This is especially important if you have saved your phone number, contact information, and other information that you may not need to access anytime soon. If you do not save the data, you will not be able to retrieve it once the account is deleted.
You will also want to visit the support section. From here, you will find a number of links that will help you to remove your account. You can even request your data by email.
To start, you may want to take a close look at the data on your phone. If you have a recent snapshot of your account, you should be able to see this. You may also wish to use an application such as Dropbox or Google Drive to back up your photos and videos. This is particularly useful if you want to delete your Snapchat account because you will lose all the data associated with the account.
Depending on your location, you may be able to delete your Snapchat account from a browser. This is especially useful if you are on the go and can’t access the app to check on your friend’s whereabouts. You can also follow the steps above to delete your account on the official Snapchat website. You will need to enter your username and password in order to do so. Once you are done, you will be directed to the account deletion page. You can then click the Delete my account link at the top of the page. If you are not sure how to do this, you can always contact a representative for further assistance.
Besides deleting your account, you will be able to reactivate it after thirty days. However, you won’t be able to use it to send messages to your friends while it’s disabled. It’s a good idea to reactivate your account before the 30 day window if you want to be able to interact with your friends.